NEWS RELEASE August 3, 2010

MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS 411 NORTH 5[™] ST SHELTON, WA 98584 (360) 427-9670 EXT. 419

- TO: KMAS, KRXY, SHELTON-MASON COUNTY JOURNAL, THE OLYMPIAN, SHELTON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, NORTH MASON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, CITY OF SHELTON, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL, THE SUN
- RE: Mason County Noxious Weed Control Board Vacancies

The Mason County Noxious Weed Control Board needs representation from the Skokomish Valley, southern Hood Canal, Agate, and Harstine Island areas (Noxious Weed Control Districts 2 and 3) of Mason County. Noxious weeds threaten our agriculture base, livestock health, forests and public health. The board consists of five voting members appointed by the county legislative authority, each representing one of the five designated weed control districts in the county. Four of the five members must be producers of an agricultural product, such as livestock, crops, shellfish, timber or Christmas trees.

The board has the mission of working to protect the citizens, natural resources (including lakes, shellfish and timber), livestock and agricultural resources of Mason County from the degrading effects of noxious weed invasions. The Board works to identify priority weed issues and develops a strategy to control noxious weeds with the cooperation of residents and agencies in the county. The Mason County Noxious Weed Control Program works to educate residents on noxious weed identification, control methods and works cooperatively with landowners who have noxious weed infestations.

To obtain an application please contact the Commissioners' Office at 427-9670 ext. 419 or 275-4467 ext. 419 or visit our website at <u>www.co.mason.wa.us</u>. You may also pick up an application at the Mason County Commissioners' Office at 411 N Fifth Street in Shelton.

Applications to serve on the board are being accepted until August 20, 2010, and should be submitted to the Mason County Commissioners, 411 N. 5th, Shelton, WA 98584.

For more information, interested individuals may contact Pat Grover at 427-9670 or 275-4467 ext. 592.

BOARD OF MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Ross Gallagher Chair Lynda Ring Erickson Commissioner Tim Sheldon Commissioner