NEWS RELEASE September 14, 2010

MASON COUNTY COMMISISONERS 411 NORTH 5TH STREET SHELTON, WA 98584 (360) 427-9670 EXT. 419

- TO: KMAS, KRXY, SHELTON-MASON COUNTY JOURNAL, THE OLYMPIAN, SHELTON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, NORTH MASON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, CITY OF SHELTON, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL, THE SUN, TACOMA MORNING NEWS TRIBUNE, NORTH MASON LIFE.
- RE: Mason County Parks and Trails Department announces a donation from the Squaxin Island Tribe to keep the Mason County Skateboard facility open through the end of 2010.

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council and The Mason County Parks and Trails Department have announced the Tribe's agreement for continued financial support, covering the \$4,000.00 for "operational and maintenance" budget shortfall, for the remainder of the year. This will not only ensure the parks continued operation, but also give county officials more time in developing a more long-term financial plan for the Skate Parks future. The donations from the Squaxin Island Tribe have been crucial to keeping the skatepark open for public use in 2009 and 2010 due to County Budget reductions. The skateboard facility is located at 110 Wallace Kneeland Park – next to the Shelton Wal-Mart store.

The venture between The Squaxin's and Mason County Parks began in March of 2009, when the Tribe heard about the budget shortfall and near closure, and expressed their interest to 'bridge that gap'. Those efforts kept the park open for 2009.

It is the hopes of the tribe that other community organizations and businesses will learn of this, and maybe step forward in a combined effort to monetarily give back to the community, and help offset some of the other costs associated with the park that are not just the annual operational and maintenance costs.

If anyone has any questions about the Skateboard facility donation or operations, please contact John Keates at Mason County Parks, 427-9670, ext. 669 or by e-mail, **johnk@co.mason.wa.us**

BOARD OF MASON COUNTY COMMISISONERS

Ross Gallagher	Lynda Ring Erickson	Tim Sheldon
Chair	Commissioner	Commissioner