NEWS RELEASE FEBRUARY 7, 2012

MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS 411 NORTH 5TH ST SHELTON. WA 98584

TO: KMAS, KRXY, SHELTON-MASON COUNTY JOURNAL, THE OLYMPIAN, SHELTON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, NORTH MASON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, CITY OF SHELTON, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL, THE SUN

RE: Seeking members for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Advisory Committee

The Mason County Commissioners are seeking volunteers to serve on newly created Mental Health and Substance Abuse Advisory Committee. This ongoing Committee will make recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners annually on the use of the funds collected from the 1/10th of 1% sales tax imposed for mental health, substance abuse and therapeutic courts pursuant to RCW 82.14.460. The Committee will also provide oversight in the prioritization, selection and evaluation of programs or services funded by sales tax revenue and prepare an annual report to the community on how funds are used and what happened as a result.

Meetings of the Advisory Committee will be open to the public. The Committee will determine how often to meet, when and for how long in order to complete their business annually. Initial guidance will come from the recommendations and findings in the October 2011 Mental Health and Substance Abuse & Therapeutic Courts Advisory Committee Report. The first meeting will be held shortly after the Commissioners have made initial appointments to the Committee.

If you are interested in serving on the Mental Health and Substance Abuse Advisory Committee, please complete the county form which can be found on the Mason County Website. On the Mason County Home Page, click on "Advisory Committees" in the left column and then click on "advisory board form". Please submit completed form to the Mason County Commissioners at 411 North 5th Street, Shelton, WA 98584 by February 28, 2012.

For questions, please contact Vicki Kirkpatrick, 360-427-9670, Ext. 260; 360-275-4467, Ext. 260 from Belfair; or 360-482-5269. Ext. 260 from Elma. Or email: vickik@co.mason.wa.us

Lynda Ring Erickson Chair	Steve Bloomfield Commissioner	Tim Sheldon Commissioner
Orian	Commissioner	Oommissioner