## NEWS RELEASE March 10, 2015

## MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS 411 NORTH 5<sup>TH</sup> ST SHELTON, WA 98584 (360) 427-9670 EXT. 419

## TO: KMAS, KRXY, SHELTON-MASON COUNTY JOURNAL, THE OLYMPIAN, SHELTON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, NORTH MASON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, CITY OF SHELTON, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL, THE SUN

## RE: Mason County Board of Equalization Membership

The Board of Mason County Commissioners is seeking applications from community members who are interested in serving on the Mason County Board of Equalization. The term of the position will end on May 31, 2018. Applicants must reside in Mason County.

The Board of Equalization is a three-member board appointed by the Mason County Commissioners. One alternate member may also be selected. The Board's responsibility is to ensure that all property valuations are at 100% of market value, so equitable tax assessment can be established.

Taxpayers may appeal their assessments, including assessments of real and personal property, forest land, timber, and open space. The Board also considers denial of senior citizen property tax exemptions. Taxpayers can file a petition with the Board of Equalization and a hearing will be scheduled to present their appeal of their assessment.

Depending on the number of appeals heard each year, the Board may meet up to three days a week, throughout the year. Board members are paid a per diem, currently \$100 per day, when in session.

As required by RCW 84.48.042, the successful applicant must attend training, provided by the Washington State Department of Revenue, within one year of appointment or reappointment.

Interested citizens may obtain an application at the Mason County Commissioners' Office, 411 North 5<sup>th</sup> Street, Shelton, or by calling Shelton 360-427-9670, ext. 419; Belfair 360-275-4467, ext. 419; Elma 360-482-5269, ext. 419 or visit the Mason County website at <u>www.co.mason.wa.us</u>. Applications will be accepted until the position is filled.

BOARD OF MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Randy Neatherlin Chair

Tim Sheldon Commissioner

Terri Jeffreys Commissioner