NEWS RELEASE June 13, 2017

MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS 411 NORTH 5^{TH} ST SHELTON, WA 98584 (360) 427-9670 EXT. 419

TO: KMAS, KRXY, SHELTON-MASON COUNTY JOURNAL, THE OLYMPIAN, SHELTON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, NORTH MASON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, CITY OF SHELTON, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL, THE SUN

RE: Mason County Heritage Grant Cycle

The Mason County Commissioners and the Mason County Historic Preservation Commission are pleased to announce that applications are being accepted for the Summer 2017 Mason County Heritage Grant cycle.

On behalf of the Board of County Commissioners, the Mason County Historic Preservation Commission administers the Mason County Heritage Grant Program to assist projects that promote the public's access to County history. The program is funded with a portion of document recording fees collected by the Mason County Auditor. The allocation of these fees for projects that "promote historical preservation or historical programs, which may include preservation of historic documents" is authorized under RCW 36.22.170. The revenues accrue to a dedicated fund and may not be used for any purpose other than those stipulated in the statute.

Grants in amounts up to \$5,000 may be awarded to qualified organizations for professional development, public education, small capital projects, collections management, heritage investigations and historic preservation. This is a reimbursement grant. It is very important that organizations considering application for this grant read the grant guidelines and other details on the Mason County website: http://www.co.mason.wa.us/forms/historic/grant_guidelines.pdf

Grant applications are available on The Mason County website: http://www.co.mason.wa.us/forms/historic/heritage-grant-application.pdf
Proposals can be mailed to the Mason County Historic Preservation Commission, 615 W Alder Street, Shelton, WA, and postmarked no later than July 20, 2017. Applications may also be hand delivered to 615 W Alder Street, Shelton, WA 98584, no later than 4:30 PM July 20, 2017.

Questions should be directed Michael MacSems at 427-9670 ext. 571.

BOARD OF MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Kevin Shutty

Chair

Randy Neatherlin

Commissioner

Terri Jeffre

Commissioner