# Resolution Number 2-93

## Totten/Little Skookum Clean Water District Formation and Boundaries

#### WHEREAS,

RCW 90.72 gives the county the authority to establish "Shellfish Protection Districts" to address nonpoint pollution sources within its shellfish producing watersheds, AND; WHEREAS,

The Totten/Little Skookum Watershed Management Committee did recommend that Mason County form a special purpose district, which they refer to as a "Watershed Protection District", in the Totten/Little Skookum Watershed Action Plan, adopted in December 1991, AND;

### WHEREAS,

the Totten/Little Skookum Watershed Implementation Council has submitted a letter to the Board of Mason County Commissioners supporting the formation of a Clean Water District, AND;

#### WHEREAS,

the intent and purpose of RCW 90.72 <u>Shellfish Protection Districts</u> meets the intent and purpose of the Totten/Little Skookum Watershed Management Committee's "Watershed Protection District", AND;

#### WHEREAS.

the Totten/Little Skookum Watershed is a major shellfish producing watershed, AND; WHEREAS,

nonpoint pollution sources including failing on-site sewage systems and agricultural runoff threaten the public safety of shellfish harvesting within the watershed,

#### THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

Mason County establishes the Totten/Little Skookum Clean Water District as authorized under RCW 90.72. AND;

Mason County establishes the boundaries of the district to include:

West Willamet Meridian,

those parts of sections 27, 33, and 34, of R 2 W, T 20 N, that include Hope Island, AND; sections 28, 31, 32, and the S.E. 4 of section 29, of R 2 W, T 20 N, AND;

the N ½ of sections 5 and 6, of R 2 W, T 19 N, AND;

the S ½ of sections 35 and 36, of R 3 W, T 20 N, AND;

sections 1 through 11, 14 through 22, the N.W.¼ of sections 23 and 28, and sections 29 through 32, of R 3 W, T 19 N, AND;

sections 13 and 14, 21 through 36, of R 4 W, T 19 N.

RESOLVED THIS 5th DAY OF JANUARY 1993

**BOARD OF MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS** 

Laura E. Porter Chairperson

William O. Hunter Commissioner Marv L. Faughender

Commissioner

Aproved as to form:

Michael Clift, Deputy Prosecuting Attorney

c: Assessor Auditor Treasurer

> Central Services/Admin Water Quality