RESOLUTION NO. 9-97

A JOINT RESOLUTION of the Thurston, Grays Harbor, Mason and Kitsap Counties Board of County Commissioners appointing a member to represent the 35th Legislative District in the Washington State Senate.

WHEREAS, a Vacancy has been created in the 35th Legislative District in the Washington State Senate; and

WHEREAS, the 35th Legislative District is a joint Legislative District located partly in Thurston, Grays Harbor, Mason and Kitsap Counties, and the Washington State Constitution, Article II, Section 15, provides in such cases that the vacancy be filled by joint action of the legislative bodies of the four counties; and

WHEREAS, the combined legislative bodies met in a joint session and interviewed the nominees;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF THURSTON, GRAYS HARBOR, MASON AND KITSAP COUNTIES as follows:

<u>Section 1:</u> Lena Swanson is one of the three nominees submitted by the Washington State Democratic Central Committee, and is qualified to fill the Senate vacancy.

<u>Section 2:</u> Lena Swanson is hereby appointed to the Washington State Senate 35th Legislative District.

ADOPTED: February 11, 1997.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS Kitsap County, Washington

Phil Best, Chairperson

Charlotte Garrido, Commissioner

Christene Endresen, Commissioner

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONER Thurston County, Washington

Diane Oberquell, Chairperson

Dick Nichols, Commissioner

2. 2/1/00

Judy Wilson, Commissioner

Resolution Page 2

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS Grays Harbor County, Washington

Robert W, Paylor, Chairperson

Bob Beerbower, Commissioner

Dick Dixon, Commissioner

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS Mason County, Washington

Mary Jo Cady, Chairperson

John A. Bolender, Commissioner

Cynthia D. Olsen, Commissioner

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Mike Clift, Mason County Deputy Prosecuting Attorney

j:\resolute\senate.res