ORDINANCE NUMBER 78-07

AN ORDINANCE ADOPTING THE BELFAIR/LOWER HOOD CANAL WATER RECLAMATION FACILTY PLAN SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATION, MAY 2007

WHEREAS: The Belfair Urban Improvement Feasibility Study was initiated in 2004 to assist the Board of County Commissioner in defining urban improvement s for the Belfair Urban Growth Area (UGA) and,

WHEREAS: Murray, Smith & Associates (MSA) were retained to provide professional engineering services as a part of the larger Feasibility Study on how sewers should be constructed in the Belfair UGA and,

WHWEREAS: Murray, Smith & Associates submitted to the Department of Ecology a plan entitled The Belfair Lower Hood Canal Water Reclamation Facility Plan Supplemental Information, May 2007 for required State of Washington approval and,

WHEREAS: The Department officially approved the plan on June 22, 2007 and,

WHEREAS: The plan and supplemental information outlines the development of collection and transmission lines, and the construction of a Membrane Biological Reactor (MBR) treatment facility to serve the first and future phases of sewerage works to serve the Belfair UGA, and

WHEREAS: The Mason County Board of County Commissioner must adopt the facility plan prepared by MSA to access funds provided by the Washington State Legislature and the Department of Ecology State Revolving Fund to complete the outlined sewerage works and,

WHEREAS: The original Washington State Department of Ecology approved copy of The Belfair Lower Hood Canal Water Reclamation Facility Plan Supplemental Information, May 2007 is attached to this ordinance.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT ORDAINED, that the Board of Commissioners Mason County hereby adopts The Belfair Lower Hood Canal Water Reclamation Facility Plan Supplemental Information, May 2007 as the guiding document in providing sewer improvements for the Belfair UGA.

DATED this 10 day of July 2007.

ATTEST:

Rebecca S. Rogers, Clerk of the Board

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Deputy Prosecuting Attorney

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS MASON COUNTY, WASHINGTON

Lynda Ring Erickson, Chair

Tim Sheldon, Commissioner

Ross Gallagher, Commissioner