RESOLUTION NO. 71-17 RECOMMENDATION TO THE COUNTY COMMISSION BY THE BOARD COMPOSITION REVIEW COMMITTEE RELATING TO THE COMPOSITION OF THE MASON TRANSIT AUTHORITY BOARD.

A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSIONERS OF MASON COUNTY, WASHINGTON, ON APPROVING THE COMPOSITION OF MASON TRANSIT AUTHORITY BOARD.

WHEREAS, pursuant to RCW 36.57A.055, a meeting of representatives from the component jurisdictions within the Mason County Public Transportation Benefit Area, namely the three County Commissioners and a City Commissioner, was set for September 26, 2017, to be held at 1:00 PM at the Transit-Community Center Conference Room, 601 West Franklin Street in Shelton; and

WHEREAS, that Board Composition Review Committee meeting was continued until November 8, 2017 to be held 12:30 PM at the Mason Transit Administrative Office Conference Room located at 790 E. Johns Prairie Rd in Shelton; and

WHEREAS, notice of the continued meeting was conspicuously posted at the Transit-Community Center Conference Room and at the Mason Transit Authority Administrative Offices; and

WHEREAS, the November 8, 2017, meeting was held and attended by all four members; and

WHEREAS, the Board Composition Review Committee has a recommendation concerning the composition of the Mason Transit Authority Board, which recommendation is to be approved by the Mason County Commission and Shelton City Council;

NOW THEREFORE, THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF MASON COUNTY, WASHINGTON HEREBY RESOLVES AS FOLLOWS:

- **Section 1.** The Mason County Public Transportation Benefit Area (Mason Transit Authority) Board composition shall be as follows:
 - Three (3) Mason County Commissioners;
 - One (1) City of Shelton Council member;
 - Five (5) members who shall be elected officials selected by the Mason County Commissioners with the goal of seeking equal voting representation among the County commission districts.

Board members so appointed shall serve a four-year term. Vacancies through resignation or disqualification shall be filled by the County Commission to fill the unexpired term.

Section 2. The Board composition shall also contain one (1) non-voting labor representative as set forth in RCW 36.57A.050.

J:\RESOLUTIONS & ORDINANCES\RESOLUTIONS -ORDINANCES Word Files\2017\MTA Board composition.docx

Section 3. The new Board composition shall be effective as of January 1, 2018.

EFFECTIVE this <u>21</u>⁵^t day of November, 2017.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS MASON COUNTY, WASHINGTON

ATTEST:

MELISSA DREWRY,

Clerk of the Board

KEVIN SHUTTY, Chair

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

TIM WHITEHEAD, Ch. DPA

TERRI DREXLER, Commissioner

RANDY NEATHERLIN, Commissioner