## RESOLUTION NO. \(\simega\) \(\simega\) \(\left(\) \(\left(\)\) AMENDING MASON COUNTY PERSONNEL POLICY CHAPTER 4.1 WORKING HOURS AND CHAPTER 4.6 BREAKS AND MEALS

WHEREAS, the Mason County Board of County Commissioners holds the wellbeing and safety of its employees in the highest regard;

WHEREAS, pursuant to RCW 36.16.100, all county and precinct offices shall be kept open for the transaction of business during such days and hours as the board of county commissioners shall by resolution prescribe;

WHEREAS, Mason County Personnel Policy, Chapter 4.1 Working Hours has prescribed the county's normal work week as Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

WHEREAS, Mason County Personnel Policy Chapter 4.6 and negotiated union contracts require scheduled unpaid one hour lunch periods for county employees during normal working hours.

WHEREAS, recent budget cuts have resulted in reduced staffing in certain county offices and departments. To provide for the wellbeing, safety and workload requirements of staff, certain county offices and departments will need to adjust its regular public office hours to provide continued mandated services with reduced staffing levels.

WHEREAS, staff in certain county offices have volunteered to take a 30 minute unpaid lunch break to provide staffing to keep certain county office open during lunch time.

WHEREAS, currently the Mason County Assessor, Auditor and Treasurer's regular public office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The Assessor, Auditor and Treasurer are recommending regular public office hours be 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Staff in these offices will have regular working hours from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. or as otherwise provided for in union contracts.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Board of County Commissioners authorizes the Mason County Assessor, Auditor and Treasurer to provide regular public office hours of 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Approved this  $\frac{94}{6}$  day of December, 2017.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS MASON COUNTY, WASHINGTON

Kevin Shutty, Chair

Terri Drexler, Vice Chair

Randy Neatherlin, Commissioner

ATTEST:

Malices Drown Clark of the Board

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Tim Whitehead, Chief Deputy Prosecuting Attorney

Cc: Assessor, Auditor, Treasurer